Previous Winners

The locations, adjudicators and winners of The Delius Prize have been as follows:

Finalists in the Delius Prize 2022 with adjudicator Sir Mark Elder
YearLocationAdjudicatorFirst Prize / Second Prize
2004RAMDavid Lloyd-JonesDavid Worswick and Neil Georgeson
2005RAMLionel FriendCappa Quartet / Shula Olivera (runner-up)
2006RAMSir Charles MackerrasLiv-Marie Fletcher and Timothy End /
Edgar Bailey and Timothy End
2007RAMPiers LaneJessica Hayes and Christopher White*
2008RAMBo HoltenRita Mascagna and Michele Gamba /
Mihai Cocea and Florian Mitrea
2009BCJulian Lloyd WebberRebeca Omordia / Anna Ovsyanikova
2010BCPaul SpicerClaire Lees / Philip Handy
2011BCMark StoneDominika Fehér / Natalie Hyde
2012Chetham’s School, ManchesterLionel FriendJon Stainsby and Se Ho Lee*
2013BCStephen ThrelfallAmy Littlewood and Hetti Price*
2014  No Prize held
2015RAMJeremy DibbleThomas Ang / Amy Goodwin and Daniel Espie
2106RAMBo HoltenJoseph Havlat / Euterpe Quartet
2017RAMStephen BarlowJames Heron and Thomas Ang /
Courtenay Cleary and Thomas Ang
2018RAMDavid HillYe Jin Choi and Kevin Suherman /
Hannah Curtis and Gus Tredwell
2019RBCPaul GuineryTom Pickles and Olivia Chew /
Jeffrey Armstrong and Orestis Magou
2020No Prize held due to COVID-19
2021No Prize held due to COVID-19
2022RBCSir Mark ElderYujie Wang / Antonida Kocharova and
Ishan Bhadra
2023No Prize held
2024RAMStephen ThrelfallRachael Kwa / Andrew Zhao and Muriel Oberhofer / Julian Chan

RAM = Royal Academy of Music, London
BC = Birmingham Conservatoire

RBC = Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
* = no second prize awarded


  1. A runner-up was identified in 2005 but a Second Prize was first awarded in 2006
  2. The finalists at the RAM to 2008 were judged as duos; at the BC they were judged as soloists
  3. The members of the Cappa Quartet (winners in 2005) were Anthony Sabberton and Giovanni Guzzo (violins), Adam Newman (viola) and Brian O’Kane (‘cello)
  4. The members of the Euterpe Quartet (runners up in 2016) were Sally and Sasha Gorski (violins), Kim Becker (viola) and Olivia da Costa (cello).