Hassan: The Golden Road to Samarkand

Antonio Vivaldi: Violin Concerto Rv 356, arranged for oud and strings
Joseph Tawadros: New work for oud and orchestra
Frederick Delius: Hassan (complete incidental music)

Britten Sinfonia
Britten Sinfonia Voices
Jaime Phillips, conductor
Joseph Tawadros, oud

Middle Eastern music of heart-wrenching beauty meets the Western imagination of sensuality and drama along the medieval Silk Road.

Hassan is an unlikely hero – an unattractive Baghdad sweet merchant who is comically rebuffed by his would-be love. But the mood changes when he is accidentally taken into the court of the city’s all-powerful ruler, whose shocking brutality and corruption sickens him. Written 100 years ago, Delius’s richly evocative incidental music to James Elroy Flecker’s play is very rarely performed – here we experience it in a compelling adaptation for narrator and orchestra.